Quick Links

Quick Links

Belvidere Primary School

Little Bells

Foundation Stage Curriculum

In the foundation stage we follow the revised framework for the EYFS. Children develop in the context of relationships and the environment around them. This is unique to each family, and reflect individual communities and cultures.

 Characteristics of Effective Learning

These characteristics are fundamental to all areas of learning:
  • Playing and exploring
  • Active learning
  • Creating and thinking critically

 Prime Areas

There are three prime areas of learning that are most essential for children's readiness for the future learning and healthy development;
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language

The prime areas support learning in all the other areas and are fundamental throughout your child's Early Years education.

Specific Areas

There are also four specific areas of learning which build on the above prime areas. These areas include the skills and knowledge for your child to be able to participate successfully in society. They are:

  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design